Don't know the difference between vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian, lacto-ovo vegetarian, pollotarian, and any other kind of 'tarian? Let us attempt to explain it.
Unless you know someone who follows a strict diet or you follow one yourself, chances are that you don’t really know the difference between vegan and vegetarian, and you might not even be aware of the various types of ‘tarians a person could be. To be honest, most of us didn’t know the differences either before we started looking into the various eating choices; So let us help you understand them by simplifying them as best we can.
Vegan: Technically this is a person who does not consume any animal products, whether that’s through ingestion or use; But it’s also the word used to describe a person who is a strict vegetarian, which means it's not okay to eat animal products but using them (such as wearing leather shoes) is acceptable. So if we take "strict vegetarian" as the meaning of vegan, then someone that does not consume animals through ingestion or use in any form, is a strict vegan.
Vegetarian: A person who does not eat or does not believe in eating meat, fish, fowl, or, in some cases, any food derived from animals, as eggs or cheese, but consumes vegetables, fruits, nuts, grain, etc. For most people though, vegetarians don’t eat animal flesh or meat, but they do consume dairy products, eggs and honey. However the correct word for that is a lacto-ovo vegetarian.
Lacto vegetarian: A vegetarian who eats dairy products but avoids eggs.
Ovo vegetarian: A vegetarian who eats egg products but avoids dairy.
Pollotarian: Also known as a pollo-vegetarian, this is someone who eats everything but red meat.
Pescatarian: A person who doesn’t eat land animals or birds, but eats seafood in addition to fruits, nut, vegetables and legumes; They may or may not consume eggs and dairy.
Fruitarian: A person who only eats fruits, nuts and seeds. (We're not going to go into the sub-types of being fruitarian.)
Flexitarian: A person who swings between being vegetarian and an omnivore. (i.e. Sometimes they'll eat animal products and sometimes they won't, where the "sometimes" might last days or weeks.)
Omnivore: A plant and animal eater. Also known in the animal kingdom as the opportunistic eater, given that they'll consume whatever is available.
Still confused? If you're more of a visual person, maybe a matrix table will help you understand what's what. If that's the case, head over to Wikipedia, where they've put together a nice little table to explain it all.
Regardless of what you classify yourself as, come join us here at Real Grounded for a tasty, wholesome meal, that doesn't involve any animals or animal products. You don't have to be vegan to eat and drink with us. You just need to come with an appetite and love food.
Yours in good food and health,
The RG team